Board Directors


Mara Bún | Chair of the Board

Mara Bún is a Company Director and strategy consultant who works with people who share her optimism about a positive future, despite all evidence pointing to challenges ahead. Mara is a Director of the Board of AirSeed Technologies, GreenCollar and Australian Ethical Investments, is the Founder and Sustainability & Strategy Leader of the Salmon Project, and recently retired as President of the Australian Conservation Foundation.

norman gillespie

Norman Gillespie | Non-Executive Director

Norman is passionate about working with extraordinary people to realise their vision of creating and developing enterprises which bring about sustainable positive economic, social and cultural change. He has held positions including Chief Financial Office and Deputy CEO of Optus Communications, CEO of the Sydney Opera House, Deputy Chair of the Australian Brandenburg Orchestra, CEO of UNICEF Australia, and as current Chairman of Pinchgut Opera.


Trevor Thomas | Non-Executive Director

Trevor joined Ethinvest in 1997 after spending 6 years in South America working in economic development. Prior to that he was employed as an economist with one of Australia’s major banks and AP Dow Jones Telerate. Trevor is a trustee of a number of philanthropic organisations, including the John T Reid Charitable Trusts and the Community Impact Foundation, and assists a number of charitable trusts and not for profit organisations with their investment strategies.

Past Directors

Graeme Samuel AC

Professor Graeme Samuel AC | Retired Director

Graeme is a Professor in the Monash Business School. He has excelled in a professional career spanning senior roles in law, investment banking and public service, sport, health, the arts, business and public policy in economic reform and regulation.  Graeme's many appointments have included Chairman of the ACCC (2003-2011) and Chairman of Opera Australia (1995-2000). He completed a major review of the Commonwealth EPBC Act in 2020. Graeme was made a Companion of the Order of Australia in 2010.